top of page
  • Writer's pictureM.B.Buchanan

5 Reasons to Play Dungeons and Dragons

Updated: Jul 11, 2019



1) Building Your Character:

Before and after becoming a writer the joy of creating the perfect character to role-play is tons of fun! You can create a BA rogue, a fighter, a wizard, or even a socially awkward bard with a penchant for turnings allies into enemies. The possibilities are endless, and as a writer this can be a great resource for fleshing out possible characters for your novel.


2) The Feeling You Get When You Roll a Nat 20:



For those of you who don't know, when you want your character to do something - be it attack an opponent, pick a lock on a treasure chest, do a super cool flip from the rafters, or try to convince your gnome companion that you didn't lift 200 gold pieces off his unconsciousness body (ahem) - you have to roll a 20 sided dice to see if you will succeed. Rolling max, or a 20, means an automatic success - and looking really cool while doing it. (We're not going to talk about rolling a Nat 1 here.)


3) The Role-Playing:

Another great tool for writers - getting to act out your characters. For example: In one campaign I'm playing a lawful/evil character and I don't get along with anyone in the party- it's great! I accidentally set a demon loose while my companions were resting, and I wasn't even sorry. I convinced the thing I was its master and told it to leave - such a great feeling. Playing a sarcastic tiefling rogue who doesn't give a rat's you-know-what, has been useful in writing up and understanding a new character I'm planning.


4) The Story Telling:

If you have a great DM (Dungeon Master) like I do, you get to become a part of the world and story they've created. Not only are you a part of it, you get to shape it. The choices you make affect the world and the other characters around you - for better or worse.


5) The Social Interaction:

Even us introverts need to have some time around others. At least once a month my husband and I have a group of friends come to our home to play D&D. We gather in the living room and while we look like a bunch of nerds gathered around a tabletop (because we are) we're actually having a blast. We're making jokes, sharing memes, and having supper together. While in game their characters may hate what I'm doing, outside they're encouraging me to touch that shiny orb that has all but a sign saying "DO NOT TOUCH!" on it. I was friends with these guys before playing D&D with them, but now, our friendship has grown and we can laugh and joke about all the shenanigans we get our characters into.


BONUS) Dice:

Honestly? It's really fun to roll the dice. And picking a colorful set makes it all the better!


D&D may not be for everyone, but neither is watching football, or going to concerts. Years ago I scoffed at the idea of people playing D&D. I knew I was nerd, but at least I wan't that nerdy. But that's really a bad attitude to have. Who am I to judge someone for enjoying a game? It wasn't until my boyfriend - now husband- told me that he played that I decided to give it a shot. And now I play every Sunday night. So don't knock something until you try it. And if you don't like it, that's fine, just don't look down on someone because they do.


10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page